Twitter turns its block function into a mute button, and some users revolt

Twitter has quietly changed the way blocking works in a move that means once-blocked trolls can once again interact with their old targets — but all of their interactions will remain hidden from their targets. Under a new policy that’s already gone live, users will still be able to follow, and see new updates from public account holders, even if the follower’s been blocked. Under the previous system, those same users wouldn’t have been able to follow an account, or see the profile picture associated with it when blocked. In effect, Twitter’s blocking tool is now more of a mute button, as Forbes notes — which means blocked users can’t really tell they’ve been blocked.

Continue reading…

The Verge – All Posts

Leave a Comment