Netflix is testing a ‘privacy mode’ for watching guilty pleasures

The feature colloquially referred to as “porn mode” on web browsers is headed to Netflix soon. The company just began testing a new feature on its streaming service called “privacy mode,” that won’t keep track of what you’ve watched or use it to come up with new recommendations. That means with the feature enabled, you could watch Dana Carvey’s The Master of Disguise (which holds a 1 percent on Rotten Tomatoes) without fear of having future recommendations skewed, or loved ones seeing what you’ve done.

The feature is being tested in some markets and only to some users, GigaOm reports. If made a permanent fixture, it would join the multiple user profile feature, which Netflix introduced nearly a year ago, and lets several people share…

Continue reading…

The Verge – All Posts

Leave a Comment